February 02, 2019

2019 PBA D-League Season: 2 groups formed for elimination phase

Collegiate champions and top contenders will get to test their mettle as the 20-team field has been sliced into two groups for the elimination phase of the 2019 PBA D-League season.

UAAP champion Cignal-Ateneo banner Group A, along with Foundation Cup champion Go for Gold-CSB, Ironcon-UST, Petron-Letran, and Batangas-EAC.

Also part of the bracket are NAASCU titlist St. Clare-Virtual Reality, FamilyMart-Enderun, AMA Online Education, McDavid, and last year's runner-up Che'Lu Bar and Grill.

Bunch in Group B are Metropac Movers-San Beda, Valencia City Bukidnon-San Sebastian, Perpetual, Cha Dao Milk Tea-FEU and SMDC-NU. UCBL ruler Diliman College, CEU, and Marinerong Pilipino and Wangs Basketball.

Round-robin format will be observed in each group, with teams playing nine games in the eliminations. The top four teams will earn a ticket to the crossover quarterfinals, with the top two teams earning a twice-to-beat advantage.

Sponsored content:
Winners of the series will advance to the best-of-three semis. The last two teams standing will advance to the best-of-five Finals.

The 2019 PBA D-League season commences on Feb. 14 at Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig.(RL)