January 06, 2020

12 teams competing in 2020 Aspirants' Cup

TWELVE teams have declared their interest to join the 2020 PBA D-League Aspirants' Cup, set to start on February 13.

Eco Oil-DLSU headlines the list of prospective newcomers with a team built around a retooled Green Archer team that finished fifth in last year's UAAP wars.

The other new teams are school-based squads Mapua and DLSU Dasmarinas, and club teams Paranaque City and Debantan Sports.

Meanwhile, Centro Escolar University and Marinerong Pilipino are motivated to make an impact this coming season after coming up short last year.

University of the Philippines is also making a comeback and is expected to draw a lot of interest. The Maroons will be beefed up by Kobe Paras, Ricci Rivero, and Bright Akhuetie.

Sponsored content:
UP make its debut in the league in 2016, losing to Tanduay in the quarterfinals.

Completing the 12-team field are Ironcon-UST, Far Eastern University, Diliman College, and AMA Online Education.

According to Tournament Supervisor Mauro Bengua prospective participants have until Jan. 15 to pay the entry fee.

Bengua said the 2020 PBA D-League Draft is scheduled on January 20 at the PBA Office in Libis, Quezon City.