April 02, 2024

CCI-Yengskivel holds off Keanzel Basketball to claim first win

CCI-Yengskivel defeated Keanzel Basketball, 80-73, on Tuesday for its first win in the 2024 PBA D-League Aspirant's Cup at the Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig.

The Crusaders stormed to a 38-13 advantage after one quarter but needed to get the act together in the third quarter to bounce back from disappointing 110-68 debut loss against back-to-back title holder EcoOil-La Salle.

Four players hit double digits led by Victor Ryan Nuarin's 19 points. He also had five rebounds and two steals as the Bulacan-based dribblersclimbed to third spot in this six-team tourney with a 1-1 card.

Castor Troy Manipolo had 13 points while Kenneth Tener and Kenjie Ryan Buenaflor had 11 apiece for CCI-Yengkisvel, which will shoot for a second straight win against Centro Escolar U on Thursday.

"Muntik na. Buti nakapag-settle down kami. Nakapag-pondo kasi kami nang malaki at iyon ang mahalaga. 'Yun ang nag-materialize sa dulo," said coach Arwin Adina.

Sponsored content:
CCI-Yengskivel used a 16-2 run to set the pace and built a 25-point advantage in the first quarter that cushioned the impact of Keanzel's uprising.

Keanzel outscored CCI-Yengskivel, 23-8, in the second period to pull within 38-46 at halftime. Keanzel stayed close in the fourth until Alfren Gayosa hit back-to-back basket to make it a two-point game, 73-75, with 51 seconds left.

But CCI-Yengskivel held on as Charles dela Cruz scored on a transition lay-up and Romnile Talagtag hit booming trey to secure the win.

Rudolfo Alota tallied 17-point and 11-rebound while Gayosa and Earl Ceniza added 16 and 14 points, respectively, for Keanzel Basketball which fell to 0-2. (JBU)

The Scores:

Sponsored content:
CCI-Yengskivel 80 - Nuarin 19, Manipolo 13, Tener 11, Buenaflor 11, Jawili 6, Galvez 5, Esguerra 5, Dela Cruz 5, Talagtag 3, Puzon 2, Verdadero 0, Guray 0, De Guzman 0.

Keanzel 73 - Alota 17, Gayosa 15, Ceniza 14, Wong 6, Villaflor 5, Sison 4, Calacalsada 4, Baclig 4, Villamor 5, Panlilio 0, Camay 0, Magpayo 0, Advincula 0.

Quarterscores: 38-15, 46-38, 60-48, 80-73.