Jun 10, 2024

Fajardo, Bolick, Holt in three-way fight for PH Cup BPC award

WILL June Mar Fajardo extend his domination or will either Robert Bolick or rookie Stephen Holt pull off a surprise for the PBA Philippine Cup Best Player of the Conference award?

The three are currently in a close fight for the conference's highest individual plum, the winner of which will be known just before Game 4 of the best-of-seven final on Wednesday at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

By the end of the semifinals, the 6-foot-10 Fajardo has finally ascended the top as San Miguel made it anew to the title series of the all-Filipino conference.

The seven-time MVP accumulated 43.12 statistical points to dislodge Bolick at no. 1

Fajardo averaged 17.3 points, 14.5 rebounds, and 3.1 assists as he led San Miguel to a 4-0 sweep of Rain or Shine in the semis for a place in the finals.

Sponsored content:
The Cebuano cager is a nine-time winner of the BPC award, including seven in the Philippine Cup.

Bolick, the consistent leader from the eliminations all the way to the playoffs, fell to no. 2 with 43.08 statistical points as the early ouster of NLEX in the playoffs hurt the chances of the former San Beda stalwart from winning his first ever BPC crown.

The NLEX combo guard still paced the league in scoring with 28.3 points, while adding 5.2 rebounds, and 6.5 assists.

At third place is Holt, the rookie guard of Terrafirma, who is running third in the race with 40.8 statistical points and posted all-around numbers of 21.08 points, 8.1 rebounds, 6.3 assists, and 2.4 steals in playing a major role in the Dyip's first ever playoffs appearance since 2016.

Holt, the top pick in last year's Draft, is also the leading candidate for the Rookie of the Year award.

Sponsored content:
Dark horses for the award are San Miguel's CJ Perez and Christian Standhardinger of Barangay Ginebra.

Perez, winner of the BPC award in the last Commissioner's Cup, Perez is no. 4 with 39.18 statistical points, while Standhardinger comes next with 39.16.

All top five players in the list are the official candidates for the BPC award, whose criteria is composed of 45 percent average statistical points, 30 percent media votes, and 25 percent players' votes. (RG)